BioNJ Elects Officers and Board

TRENTON, N.J. – (February 13, 2018) – BioNJ, the life sciences trade association for New Jersey, announced the election of its 2018 Officers and Board Members. The election preceded BioNJ’s 25th Annual Dinner Meeting and Innovation Celebration on February 1 at the Hilton East Brunswick where more than 750 industry leaders turned out to celebrate the industry and its accomplishments over dinner, networking and awards presentations.

All Officers were re-elected to serve one-year terms: Chairman James Sapirstein, R.Ph., M.B.A., Chief Executive Officer, ContraVir Pharmaceuticals, Inc.; Immediate Past Chair Stuart Peltz, Ph.D., Chief Executive Officer, PTC Therapeutics; Vice Chair Daniel J. O’Connor, Chief Executive Officer, OncoSec Medical, Inc.; Treasurer Scott White, President, Oncology, Janssen Biotech, Inc., a Johnson & Johnson Company and Secretary Christian Kopfli, Esq., Chief Executive Officer, Chromocell Corporation.

Newly elected Board Members are Terrie Curran, President, Global Inflammation & Immunology, Celgene Corporation and Clive Meanwell, M.D., Ph.D., Chief Executive Officer, The Medicines Company. Andrew L. Pecora, M.D., FACP, CPE, President, Physician Enterprise and Chief Innovations Officer, Hackensack Meridian Health, was elected to the Board as an Academic Advisor.

“We are grateful to our talented and dedicated Board whose guidance is instrumental in the work that we do and invaluable to BioNJ’s mission of helping our Members help Patients,” said BioNJ President and CEO Debbie Hart. “We welcome back our notable roster of returning Officers, Board Members and Advisors and look forward to working with our three new Board Members who are accomplished and respected industry leaders as well.”

Bios for New Board Members:
Terrie Curran, President, Global Inflammation & Immunology, Celgene Corporation
Prior to joining Celgene in April of 2013, Ms. Curran was Merck’s Senior Vice President and GM of the Global Women’s Health franchise from 2009-2013. She had commercial responsibility for $3 billion business, spanning the categories of contraception, fertility, HRT and osteoporosis. The UNFPA honored Ms. Curran with an award for the Health and Dignity of Women and Girls in 2012. Ms. Curran previously served as General Manager for Schering-Plough Switzerland, which subsequently merged with Merck. In this role she led sales, marketing, medical, regulatory, operations and logistics and was accountable for establishing long-term strategic direction. Prior to moving to Switzerland, Ms. Curran was General Manager of Schering-Plough Australia/New Zealand and served on the Asia Pacific Regional Management Team. She originally joined Schering-Plough (Australia) as Director of Specialty Health Care, where she successfully launched Remicade. Ms. Curran also served in a variety of sales, marketing and management roles at the former Pharmacia.

Clive Meanwell, M.D., Ph.D., Chief Executive Officer, The Medicines Company
Dr. Meanwell is the Chief Executive Officer of The Medicines Company, a New Jersey company which he founded in 1997 while a Managing Partner and Senior Managing Director at MPM Capital in Cambridge, Massachusetts. He is also Vice Chairman of BB Biotech and had been a director of the listed, Swiss corporation which invests in the field of biotechnology since 2003. Previously, Dr. Meanwell was Senior Vice President of Roche Life Sciences, Palo Alto and before then held a series of leadership positions in product development, regulatory affairs and marketing at Roche, mostly based in Switzerland. Earlier in his career he was a member of the Amgen-Roche team that developed and launched Neupogen®. Before joining the biopharmaceutical industry, Dr. Meanwell trained in medicine and then undertook a research fellowship in medical oncology at the University of Birmingham, and the Queen Elizabeth Medical Center, in the United Kingdom.

Bio for New Board Advisor:
Andrew L. Pecora, M.D., FACP, CPE, President, Physician Enterprise and Chief Innovations Officer, Hackensack Meridian Health
Dr. Pecora is recognized internationally as one of the world’s foremost experts in blood and marrow stem cell transplantation, cellular medicine and immunology research. A certified hematologist and oncologist, he has transformed the cancer program at Hackensack University Medical Center into one of the nation’s top cancer centers. Dr. Pecora founded and serves as Executive Chairman of COTA, a healthcare software analytics company focused on enabling value based care delivery. Additionally, Dr. Pecora was founder and instrumental in the continued expansion of Regional Cancer Care Associates (RCCA), one of the largest oncology physician networks in the country. He also co-founded PCT Caladrius, a company focused on development, manufacturing and delivery of cell-based therapies that sold to Hitachi. Dr. Pecora is a Professor of Medicine and Oncology at Georgetown University and the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey. He has led award-winning research funded by the National Cancer Institute and the AHEPA Research Foundation.

Board of Trustees 2018
In addition to the new Board Members, Members of the Board of Trustees are: Debbie Hart, President and CEO, BioNJ; Sol J. Barer, Ph.D., Former Chairman, Celgene Corporation and Chairman of the Board for Edge Therapeutics, Inc. and Teva Pharmaceuticals; Ambaw Bellete, President, Photocure, Inc.; Bradley Campbell, President and Chief Operating Officer, Amicus Therapeutics, Inc.; Meeta Chatterjee, Ph.D., Head, Strategy, Transactions and Operations, Business Development and Licensing, Merck Research Laboratories; Paul G. Howes, ThromboGenics, Inc.; Michele Korfin, Vice President, Market Access, Kite Pharma, Inc.; John Maki, President and Chief Executive Officer, Vicus Therapeutics; Anthony S. Marucci, M.B.A., Founder, President, Chief Executive Officer and Director, Celldex Therapeutics, Inc.; Matthew Roden, Ph.D., Vice President, Head of Strategic Corporate Development, Bristol-Myers Squibb Company; Spiro Rombotis, President and Chief Executive Officer, Cyclacel Pharmaceuticals, Inc.; Alan Rubino, President and Chief Executive Officer, Emisphere Technologies, Inc.; Christopher J. Schaber, Ph.D., President and Chief Executive Officer, Soligenix, Inc.; Marco Taglietti, M.D., President and Chief Executive Officer, SYNEXIS, Inc.; Monika Vnuk, M.D., Business Development, Group Lead, Pfizer Vaccines, Pfizer, Inc. and Ji Zhang, Ph.D., Senior Vice President, Head of R&D Operations, Sanofi.

Returning Board Advisors include: Daniel Barton, Vice President and General Manager, U.S. Healthcare Solutions, IQVIA; Rajeev Dadoo, Ph.D., Partner, SROne; Denis Segota, Esq., Partner, Morgan, Lewis & Bockius, LLP and Anthony Torrington, C.P.A., Partner, EY, LLP.

About BioNJ
BioNJ is a trade association of nearly 400 Member companies representing research-based life sciences organizations and stakeholders dedicated to propelling a vibrant ecosystem where Science is Supported, Companies are Created, Drugs are Developed and Patients are Paramount. Because Patients Can’t Wait®, BioNJ supports its Members in the discovery, development and commercialization of therapies and cures that save and improve lives and lessen the burden of illness and disease to society by driving capital formation, fostering entrepreneurship, advocating for public policies that advance medical innovation, providing access to talent and education and offering a cost-saving array of critical commercial resources. For more information about BioNJ, please visit

Randi Bromberg
Vice President, Communications and Marketing
O) 609-890-3185
C) 609-955-1067